JP Pritchard

Speaker John Boehner Re-Elected; 9 Republicans Defect in Speaker Vote

Comments: 0  | Leave A Comment
John Boehner

(Credit: U.S. House)

Congressman John Boehner, R-Ohio, has been re-elected Speaker of the House for the 113th Congress.

The Clerk Karen Haas announced the results of the vote where Boehner received 220 votes:

“The honorable John A. Boehner of Ohio, having received a majority of the votes cast is dually elected Speaker of the House of Representatives for the 113th Congress,” Haas announced.

Nine Republicans did not offer Boehner their support. Rep. Justin Amash, R-Mich., cast his ballot for Rep. Raul Labrador, R-Idaho. Reps. Steve Pearce, R-N.M., Jim Brindenstine, R-Okla., Ted Yoho, R-Fla., sought to elect Majority Leader Eric Cantor, R-Va.

Reps. Paul Broun, R-Ga., and Louie Gohmert, R-Texas, cast ballots for Allen West, R-Fla., despite the loss of his seat in the 2012 elections.

Rep. Walter Jones, R-N.C., voted for former Comptroller General David Walker.

Rep. Thomas Massie, R-Ky., voted for Rep. Amash, while Rep. Tim Huelskamp, R-Kan., elected to vote for Rep. Jim Jordan, R-Ohio.

Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi, D-Calif., won 192 votes.

Related Stories

Get Breaking News On Your Phone…Text “News” to 80185!

For more Local, Sports, Traffic and Breaking News, LIKE us on Facebook below!



Join the Conversation! Share and Discuss!

Tags: » » » » » » » » » » » » » » » » » » »



Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,524 other followers